Email sent!
There has been an error, please check the information you entered and try again.


Martin Cooper is Chairman and Co-Founder of Dyna LLC. He is also Co-Founder of ArrayComm, LLC, headquartered in San Jose, CA and of GreatCall, Inc., the innovator of the Jitterbug cell phone and service. Cooper has been involved in and contributed to virtually every major innovation in personal wireless communications in his over 50-year career. He conceived the first portable cellular phone in 1973, and is widely recognized as an innovator in spectrum management. For 29 years, Cooper led a number of major businesses at Motorola; including high-capacity paging, trunked mobile radio, cellular radio telephone, quartz crystals and oscillators, liquid crystal displays, piezo-electric components, A.M. stereo technology, and various mobile and portable two-way radio product lines. Following Motorola, Cooper co-founded Cellular Business Systems, Inc., a cellular billing system company. Cooper has 11 patents in the communications field. He is widely published and continues to write and lecture around the world about wireless communications, technological innovation, the Internet, and R&D management.   Cooper was involved in industry and government efforts to allocate new radio frequency spectrum for the land mobile radio services in the U.S. and has testified before the Federal Communications Commission and the United States Senate. He serves on the U.S. Department of Commerce Spectrum Advisory Committee that advises the President of the United States on spectrum policy. Cooper has received numerous honors and awards, including the 2009 Prince of Asturias Award for Technical and Science Research and induction into the National Academy of Engineering in 2010. In February 2013, Cooper was co-recipient of the Charles Stark Draper Prize; one of the world’s preeminent awards for engineering achievement. In October, 2013, he was awarded the coveted Marconi Prize. Cooper has bachelors and masters degrees in Electrical Engineering from the Illinois Institute of Technology and was awarded an honorary doctorate by that institution in 2004. He serves on IIT’s board of trustees, as well as the boards of several other public and private companies.